Model assessment · Schumacher Electric

Schumacher SC1307 6/12 V Charger and Maintainer review

A current-reference U.S. portable, single-output 120 V AC charger for 6 V and 12 V batteries. Its 6/2 A Charge/Maintain selection is separate from 30 A Boost and 85 A Engine Start. The page-linked instructions cover lead-acid Standard/AGM and 12 V LiFePO4 only with an integral BMS; the exact model's own Ah limit is not stated.

Sources checked 2026-11-05 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Official Schumacher SC1307 charger showing its 6V/12V face, single clamp pair and AC plug.
Official SC1307 image; its pictured panel labels 6/2 A Charge/Maintain, 30 A Boost and 85 A Engine Start. Image: Schumacher Electric SC1307 collection/product page
A useful fit for

A portable single-output choice when one 6 V or 12 V battery needs a documented 6/2 A Charge/Maintain capability, or a 12 V LiFePO4 charge profile with its own integral BMS. Its 30 A Boost and 85 A Engine Start are separate functions.

The main tradeoff

This is a corded, one-output bench unit rather than an installed charger. The manual requires grounded 120 V AC, dry ventilated use and shore charging for marine batteries. Its universal Ah limit and fixed maintain current are unknown; check the battery maker's permitted rate. The exact image shows the face labels but does not display every documented profile.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the SC1307 charge at 85 A during ordinary use?

No. The exact SC1307 page and official face image separate 6/2 A Charge/Maintain from 30 A Boost and 85 A Engine Start. The assessment treats the two routine settings as 2 A at 6 V and 6 A at 12 V; 6 A is a listed capability, not a safe-rate prescription. Follow the battery maker's charging limit and verify the current SC1307 face/manual.

Explore this need in the finder →
Which batteries and voltage profiles are documented?

The exact page and directly linked 0099002204-00 manual cover 6 V and 12 V lead-acid Standard (STD) and AGM. The manual also lists a 12 V LiFePO4 profile, but only with a BMS and all necessary protection integral to the battery pack. The face photo visibly labels STD and AGM without showing a lithium selector; check the current manual for the unit. Only AGM and the documented BMS-required LiFePO4 plan are subtype-mapped here; Standard does not mean every flooded, EFB, Gel or maintenance-free subtype.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the SC1307 maintain a battery after charging?

For its lead-acid Charge/Maintain setting, the linked manual says the charger switches to Maintain when charge is complete and supplies a small current as needed. It does not state a fixed float-current value, requires occasional monitoring and can abort after excessive maintain current for 12 continuous hours. The 30 A Boost and 85 A Engine Start labels are not maintenance or continuous-charge ratings.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Schumacher SC1307 is a corded 6 V/12 V charger with engine-start features, not an 85 A routine charger. Its exact product page and front-panel photo separate the 6/2 A Charge/Maintain setting from 30 A Boost and 85 A Engine Start. The linked instructions document 6 V and 12 V lead-acid use and a 12 V LiFePO4 profile only for a battery pack with its own battery-management system and all necessary protection. This assessment is based on those manufacturer materials, not hands-on testing.

What the ratings do—and do not—tell you

The headline 85 A figure belongs to Engine Start; it is a brief aid for cranking with the vehicle battery still connected. The 30 A Boost is a separate pre-start mode. Neither rating is the ordinary charging current. The panel and manual distinguish the regular 6/2 A Charge/Maintain selection. The product page calls SC1307 a 6 A charger and lists 6/12 V output; this review treats the ordinary settings as 2 A for the 6 V plan and 6 A for the 12 V plan. That is a maximum capability screen, not a recommendation to charge every battery at either rate. Check the battery maker’s charging limits before choosing a rate.

Battery fit and the lithium condition

The current U.S. product page identifies the exact model as SC1307 and links owner’s manual 0099002204-00. Its cover names both SC1307 and SC1308L; it is a shared manual, not a reason to merge the models. The instructions explicitly cover 6 V and 12 V lead-acid batteries with Standard (STD) or AGM selection, and 12 V LiFePO4 only when the battery has an integral BMS and all required protection. The product page also describes 12 V lithium support. The finder therefore includes the documented 12 V LiFePO4/BMS-required plan, but not 6 V lithium or lithium without a BMS requirement. There is a visual qualification: the exact official SC1307 photo shows the front panel’s STD and AGM labels, but does not visibly show a LiFePO4 selector. The photo establishes what is visible on that pictured unit; it cannot settle every nonvisible setting. The page-linked manual names SC1307 and explains the lithium/BMS condition. Check that the current manual supplied with the unit matches the exact SC1307 before charging lithium. The finder also maps only explicitly labelled AGM to a lead-acid subtype; “Standard” is not enough to certify Flooded/Wet, EFB, Gel, Calcium or maintenance-free batteries.

One portable output and a mains outlet

The image shows a single red/black clamp pair and an AC plug, while the manual gives one battery connection procedure. This is a portable, one-output setup, not a multi-bank charger. The page lists a 120 V AC input and the manual requires a properly grounded nominal 120 V outlet. It is not an on-board charger. The manual also calls for a dry, ventilated location, forbids rain or snow exposure and says to remove marine batteries and charge them ashore. A six-foot power cord is listed; the page’s generic “Cable Reach” field does not tell you the DC clamp-lead length, so check actual placement and delivered lead reach.

Maintenance, capacity and the limits of an assessment

After an ordinary Charge/Maintain cycle finishes, the manual says the unit switches to Maintain and supplies a small current when needed. It does not give a fixed float-current figure. It calls for occasional monitoring and says excess maintenance demand over 12 continuous hours can cause an abort—useful warnings if a battery or vehicle is drawing current. This is not a repair for a failing battery or parasitic drain. The manual’s charge-time chart uses examples and says times vary with battery age and condition. It does not establish a universal SC1307 amp-hour ceiling, so the numeric capacity filter does not treat an example size as proof of fit. The manufacturer page lists 11.6 lb and body dimensions of 10.27 × 7 × 10.27 in; these are page specifications, not independent measurements. The page lists one year of limited warranty coverage. Check the current exact-model manual, seller package, return terms, physical clearance and battery-specific rate before buying.

Who should compare it

SC1307 is relevant if one grounded-outlet, portable charger needs to handle a 6 V or 12 V AGM battery at the documented routine setting, or a 12 V LiFePO4 pack with its own BMS and protections. It adds separate Boost and Engine Start modes, but those should not make you choose it as a faster everyday charger. If you need two independent battery channels, fixed on-board wiring, wet-weather operation, a guaranteed Ah ceiling or a no-BMS lithium profile, this record does not establish that fit.

Schumacher SC1307 product page · SC1307/SC1308L owner’s manual 0099002204-00, linked from the SC1307 page.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Output battery voltages6 / 12 V
Supported chemistriesLead-acid / Lithium-ion
Rated DC charging current6 A
Independent battery outputs1
ArrangementPortable plug-in charger

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Keep the next step evidence-led

Use the finder to combine voltage, battery chemistry, charging job and setup requirements; then check the exact model and its manual.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →